ICAs Board Elects New Officers

By Beth Clay

For Immediate Release                       Media Contact:  Beth Clay 202-498-4461

 International Chiropractors Association’s Board Elects New Officers

Dr. Selina Sigafoose-Jackson Elected to Lead Board

Falls Church, VA, USA (April 19, 2021) During the 95th Annual Conference of the International Chiropractors Association (ICA), the association’s Board of Directors elected its officers for 2021-2022.  Dr. Selina Sigafoose-Jackson was elected unanimously to serve as the Board Chair.

Chair:Selina Sigafoose-Jackson, DC, FICA (York, Pennsylvania)
Vice-Chair: Amit “Jimmy” Nanda, DC (Oakville, Ontario, Canada)
Secretary: Joseph W. Betz, BS, DC, CICE, FICA (Boise, Idaho)
Treasurer:Jon L. Stucky DC, CCSP, CCEP, CCST, FICA (Hyrum, Utah)

This marks the first time that a woman has been elected to the top Board position of the ICA.  In another first, Dr. Amit “Jimmy” Nanda was elected Vice-Chair, becoming the first member from outside the U.S. to serve as officer of the ICA.

Dr. Sigafoose-Jackson following the election stated, “I am pleased to accept the position as Board Chair of the International Chiropractors Association.  As a second-generation chiropractor, I have lived and loved chiropractic my entire life.  Our association faces some very significant challenges in a post-Covid climate. I am committed to working with my ICA board colleagues, and our members and staff leadership to build a stronger and more influential organization across the states and the world.”

Dr. Sigafoose-Jackson especially noted the strategic planning process that ICA has started, pointing out that the process will benefit, during its development, from membership input and support.  Jackson said that, “We are committed to building an organization that makes a difference for our members and for those who look to them for chiropractic care.  We will tell our story of a value-added agenda.”

Vice-Chair – Dr. Amit “Jimmy” Nanda stated, “History was made by shattering the glass ceiling for Chiropractic Doctors globally, and I am honored to have been elected as the first ICA board officer from Canada.  I am so proud of the ICA for embracing diversity and I look forward to advocating on behalf of Chiropractic and the ICA agenda wherever the opportunity presents.”

Secretary – Dr. Joe Betz stated, “I am humbled to be elected as an officer of the ICA Board of Directors. The chiropractic profession, predicated upon its unique science, philosophy and art of subluxation detection and correction, has never been in such a strong position to grow the awareness, acceptance, and attitudes of the public toward chiropractic care.  This is that moment!! I look forward to helping to shape an aggressive agenda for the association and promoting and advancing the principles of the ICA.”

Treasurer – Dr. Jon Stucky stated, “I am grateful for the trust and confidence of the ICA Board to re-elect me as the Treasurer of the ICA. I look forward to serving ICA and Chiropractic with honor, integrity, and passion. I pledge my energy to growing ICA’s membership, expanding its services and influence, and broadening the awareness of the association’s overall impact”.  

Outgoing Interim Chair and its Immediate Past President Dr. Stephen P. Welsh stated that, “It has been an honor to serve as the President and then as the Interim Chair of the ICA for the past two years.   During my tenure we placed an emphasis on the “I” of the ICA – International–, and, today, the Board has underscored that with the election of ICA’s first international board officer. As I continue my service on the ICA Board, I will continue to do all that I can to support its newly elected leadership and to grow the ICA and to support the Vision, Mission, and Values of the organization.”

Dr. Sigafoose-Jackson, as the Chair of the ICA Board is the chief elected volunteer officer of the ICA and serves as the chief spokesperson of the board.  Among her responsibilities is to lead the board as it develops strategic priorities for the organization. 

ICA’s Executive Director/CEO, Ms. Beth Clay stated, “It will be my pleasure to work with this new team of officers of the Board of Directors as we set our sites on increasing the capacity of the ICA to deliver on its Mission to protect and promote chiropractic worldwide as a separate and distinct non-drug health profession. There has never been a better (or more urgent) time to join the ICA!”

About the ICA:  The ICA, founded in 1926 by Dr. B.J. Palmer, is the world’s oldest international chiropractic professional organization. We represent chiropractors, students, chiropractic assistants, educators, and laypersons world-wide.  The ICA is dedicated to the growth and development of the chiropractic profession as a unique, separate, distinct drug-less health care profession. For 95 years, the ICA has advocated and, when necessary, litigated to support the chiropractic profession and quality patient care. With the support of ICA’s dedicated members and leaders globally, chiropractic is a formally recognized and respected health care choice.  In 2021, we continue our focus on removing the barriers to access that deny patients access to the healthcare provider of their choice. 


Stay Informed

Get the latest chiropractic news, events, and more.